Before a short spring turns to Arizona summer

This nostalgic poem is a celebration of spring and remembrance of good times spent growing up with my cousin in Tucson and riding our bikes in Sabino Canyon.  What scents or places bring back memories like that for you?  Any like poems?  Any criticisms?

On Becoming in Sabino

It is a new season.

Though I was born in winter and grew

long legs in summer

today

orange blossoms spike the air.

It is all I can do to keep these black clothes

tied on and not hop on my bike and race to pick you up

both of us working up spring smiles and sweat

to the sweet spot on the rocks

where our feet slide into the melted snow flow of

water on it’s way to the desert floor.

Orange peels covering our grins as we

discover the hilarious dreaming writer women

we are someday going to be

7 thoughts on “Before a short spring turns to Arizona summer

  1. I’m so proud of you that you decided to risk it and get your stuff out there! It makes me smile just to know you are doing it! I like all three poems so far, but this one, “On Becoming in Sabino” about you and your cousin is amazing! It is so picturesque; I feel like I’m there — it’s a time capsule. The alliterations of all the “S’s” in the poem feel like the heat steaming off the desert floor. I read it four times and emphasized each S more each time I read it. Even though it’s obviously the US desert, the imagery and the tone feel Japanese, like an extended haiku. Keep going! This is an important thing for you to do! Sssssssss…. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you. Fantastic feedback. I did not even notice the “S’s.” It’s great to leap to a different spot on the mountain and look at the poem from a different point of view. Thanks for giving me that perspective and always for your support and guidance to keep going. You are a wonderful writer, critic, and friend.

      Like

  2. What a joy to read; this is wonderful. I too grew up in AZ; and miss it. I really identify with:
    “Though I was born in winter and grew
    long legs in summer”

    It was amazing to grow up in the desert, yes? I think it gives us extra skills of strength in the face of odds. More than survival; how to really thrive when resources are thin & sporadic. I try to remember this.
    Thank you for the reminder.
    tara

    I liked this wordle. If you have a chance; http://taralinda.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/national-poetry-month-30-poems30-days/

    Like

    • Wonderful comments! I never thought of it that way, but I think you’re so right about learning to thrive on thin and sporadic resources. I’m so glad to meet an Arizona connection. I can’t wait to check out your work.

      Like

    • It is just like we grew up together Miss K! I wish you were here, or I was there. Thanks for your comments. They mean so much to me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

