Things No One Should Ever Say

I confess:
I want to be a poet
a writer
someone who writes poems
for a good part of her day
who attends workshops
who starts a writer’s group
who publishes
who is known in poetry circles
I confess:
I am not just doing this for me
I am doing it for you
for everyone
and not only that, but
I want you to like it
maybe even love it
quote it
memorize it
read it
at your grandmother’s funeral
I want it to soak into your skin
and bones, and melt into your
marrow so it is forever
part of me now part of you

Leave a Reply

